Crisis of Faith


I remember the time when somebody said that there will come a time in a believer’s life where he will experience a spiritual dip. This is the point where he will experience things different from what he has learned to believe. Just then, I found myself nodding.

Time and again when I struggle, I wonder where God is. There’re just so many why’s during these days. I find almost every thing complicated to grasp. The lowest point is when His goodness in the past gets automatically forgotten, until all I can see is my pain. There I find myself messed up…again. Bigtime! (I know. I can be better than that.) This is the sad thing that most of us are inclined to do, because it’s easy to lose sight of the facts when we are hurting. But there is a way out; commitment with God would draw us out of ourselves.

There is one answer I realized on why God allow recurring trials to happen in one’s life. It is for the special reason that God cares so much about the state of our hearts. He wants to know if we are really genuine with our commitment to Him.

For God is greater than our hearts, and He knows everything.

(1 John 3:20)

Faith is simply being tested, because it’s easy to be a Christian when things are going good, when all prayers are being answered. Praise is extremely effortless at moments like that. But when hard-hitting situation strikes you, when you feel that you don’t know what to do or what to believe anymore, that’s the time you will hold on to every single hope that you have. That’s when you will make the most solid, genuine prayer of your life! You will learn to pray hard, incredibly hard as if you have never prayed before!

Here is the truth that every one ought to know: God is not a convenience. He is neither a formula nor a genie. He did not also promise a struggle-free Christian life. What He promised was grace and mercy; and He has been faithful in keeping that.

As I go through trials, the more I understand that the only good thing about me is the goodness of the Lord. I don’t have power over so many things, but there is one thing I have absolute control of – MY RESPONSE. I can choose to respond in a Christ-like manner. I can choose to trust and obey.

I have shared this truth in the hope to remind that in brink of despair, God still cares. No matter what we are going through, no matter how we are suffering, God is busy thinking about you and me. He is concern in every single detail of our lives. Never EVER doubt that He cares.

When I consider your heavens,

the work of your fingers,

the moon and the stars,

which you have set in place,

what is man that you are mindful of him,

the son of man that you care for him?

(Psalm 8:3-4)

Leave a Comment

